WATERMARKWAYNE TOWNSHIP FIRE DEPARTMENT MERIT COMMISSION MINUTES

Date: January 10, 2024

Karen Burke called the meeting to order at 5:00 pm.

Roll Call

Karen Burke - Present

Mark Scutchfield - Present

Brendan Cannaday - Not Present

Derrick Blackwell - Present

Carrie Hutt - Present

Pledge of Allegiance

Approval of Minutes

Motion to approve the November 1, 2023, minutes; Mark Scutchfield moved to approve, and Derrick Blackwell seconded, all in favor.

Election of Officers of the Board

Karen Burke nominated Mark Scutchfield for board president, and Derrick Blackwell seconded, all in favor.

Karen Burke turns the meeting over to Mark Scutchfield.

Mark Scutchfield asked for nominations for the board vice president. Karen Burke nominated Derrick Blackwell for board vice president, and all were in favor.

Mark Scuthcfield asked for the nominations of the board secretary. Karen Burke nominated Carrie Hutt for board secretary, and all were in favor.

Notification of Discipline

Reviewed Discipline

New Business

The board sets the meeting dates for 5:00 pm on the first Wednesday of each month for the 2024 calendar year.

New Business - Continued

Fire Chief Reed requested three names from the current Captains list. Attorney Beth Copeland stated that you will give him three names under Merit rules if he needs one promotion, and he (Fire Chief) chooses from those three names—questions and discussion about names from the Captain's list. Brian McKee (Union President) states the three names are Troy Wymer, Jeremy Maurer, and James Warren. Mark Scutchfield states we will vote on that; is everybody in favor of approving the names on the Captain's list? All in favor, no one opposed.

Derrick Blackwell requests dates be added to the promotions list, that is, the date of eligibility for promotion.

Old Business

None

Good of the Order

None

The meeting adjourned at 5:11 pm.

Next Meeting

February 7, 2024, @ 5 pm 6450 W. Ohio Indianapolis, IN 46214